• Val T.

Pioneer’s Ezra Lewellen, Caston’s Smith nab top Hoosier North grid awards

3 Winamac players, Culver’s Shuman also make first team


Sports Editor, RTC


Pioneer’s Ezra Lewellen was named Hoosier North Offensive MVP, and Caston’s Sam Smith was named Hoosier North Defensive MVP in voting done by the conference’s coaches and released to the media.

Ezra Lewellen and brother Addai were among eight Pioneer players picked for the first team. Brock Robinson, Derrick LeGrand, Tyler Gaumer, Wyatt Marshall, Zac Taylor and Logan Smith also made the first team. Mason Schnurpel earned honorable mention status.

Smith was the only Caston player to make the first team. Grant Hickle made honorable mention.

Winamac’s Russell Compton, Logan Schultz and Trent Fox made the first team while teammates Jaden Terry and Brayden Lynch earned honorable mention status.

Culver’s Shane Shuman made the first team while Hunter Evans and Marquez Anderson earned honorable mention recognition.

Pioneer went 5-0 in league play and was the only conference team to go undefeated.

Due to missed games because of the pandemic, no conference champion was declared.


Sam Smith (Caston), Shane Shuman (Culver), Cade Short (Knox), Gunner Wagner (Knox), Gabe Lovins (Knox), Braxton Geller (Knox), Layton Czarnecki (LaVille), Ayden Doyle (LaVille), Andrew Dill (LaVille), Evan Bettcher (LaVille), Tyler Studon (LaVille), Garrett Wagoner (LaVille), Trey Hampton (North Judson), Eli Blount (North Judson), Dylan Marin (North Judson), Brennen Benson (North Judson), Cheyenne Allen (North Judson), Tabor Brown (North Judson), Ezra Lewellen (Pioneer), Addai Lewellen (Pioneer), Brock Robinson (Pioneer), Derrick LeGrand (Pioneer), Tyler Gaumer (Pioneer), Wyatt Marshall (Pioneer), Zac Taylor (Pioneer), Logan Smith (Pioneer), Hunter McIntyre (Triton), Lucas Cabrera (Triton), Jeremiah Farrell (Triton), Russell Compton (Winamac), Logan Schultz (Winamac), Trent Fox (Winamac)


Grant Hickle (Caston), Hunter Evans (Culver), Marquez Anderson (Culver), Kenan Collins (Knox), Trevor Busse (Knox), A.J. Bedock (LaVille), Lucas Plummer (LaVille), Keaton Redlin (North Judson), Mason Schnurpel (Pioneer), Nate Amsden (Triton), Jaden Terry (Winamac), Brayden Lynch (Winamac)

Hoosier North offensive MVP – Ezra Lewellen (Pioneer)

Hoosier North defensive MVP – Sam Smith (Caston)


Pioneer 5-0, LaVille 4-1, North Judson 5-2, Knox 4-2, Winamac 3-2, Triton 2-4, Culver 1-6, Caston 0-7

34 views0 comments