top of page
Woodlawn Hospital.png
RTCtv4 2 Space Shoppers Guide Ad.png
Webbs Family Pharmacy.png
First Federal Savings Bank Banner.png
Nutrien Ag Solutions Banner.png
Post: Blog2_Post
  • Val T.

Argos, Oregon-Davis to move to Hoosier North for 2024-25


Sports Editor, RTC

Argos and Oregon-Davis will move from the Hoosier Plains Conference to the Hoosier North Athletic Conference in the 2024-25 school year, according to a press release Thursday attributed to HNAC Principals and Athletic Directors.

Argos had been a member of the Hoosier Plains Conference since its formation in 2017. Oregon-Davis had been an independent.

Neither Argos nor O-D have football, golf, tennis, swimming, wrestling or track teams, but they both have girls and boys basketball programs with prominent histories.

Argos’ girls and boys soccer teams both won sectional titles last fall. Oregon-Davis does not have girls soccer, but they do have boys soccer.

In addition, sportswriter Jim Peters of reported on May 3 that South Central (Union Mills) will join for football only. Peters attributed his report to South Central athletic director John Haggard.

South Central currently plays football in the Greater South Shore Conference and the Porter County Conference for all other sports. Peters reported that South Central will stay in the PCC for all non-football sports and said the date South Central would make the football move to the Hoosier North – either 2024 or 2025 – would depend on when the Greater South Shore would let South Central leave.

That means that the Hoosier North will have seven football schools and eight basketball schools.

Membership of the Hoosier North has fluctuated since its formation in 2015. The conference started with nine schools but dropped to eight when West Central left and went to the reformed Midwest Conference.

Membership dropped to six when LaVille and Knox announced they were leaving to start a new, yet-to-be-named conference on March 31.

Less than seven weeks later, the Hoosier North has found their replacements.

Argos had been the only Marshall County-based team in the Hoosier Plains. The five remaining schools in that conference are Bethany Christian, Elkhart Christian, Lakeland Christian, South Bend Career Academy and Trinity Greenlawn.

In addition to O-D, Argos will be in the same conference with Caston, Culver, North Judson, Pioneer, Triton and Winamac.

447 views0 comments


RTCtv4 App AD.png
Mike Anderson Rochester.png
bottom of page